Ballers in the classroom

El Camino honored more than 100 student-athletes for 2015-16 as members of the national Scholar-Baller organization according to the Public Relations and Marketing Department.

Scholar-Baller recognizes students who demonstrate dedication on the field, court, pool and classroom. For the Scholar-Baller program, student-athletes qualify for recognition by achieving a 3.0 grade point average or higher according to the El Camino website.

“I’m surprised (about being a scholar baller),” Tessy Beth-Iwuh, sophomore outside hitter for the women’s volleyball team, said. “But I worked really hard in school because (the coaches) tell us to always go to class, sit in the front, pay attention and never slack.”

El Camino College Scholar-Ballers from 2015-16 include:

Badminton: Hope Agosto, Robeth Arante, Natsuki Hoshiko, Oanh Le, Regina Reyes, and Shadera Woodland

Baseball: Kevin J. Ahir, Noah Barba, Reece M. Buska, Taylor S. Carmona, Cassius M. Hamm, Sullivan T. Lyons, Kyle J. Mitchell, Taylor S. Rashi, Nicholas A. Sablock, Jake M. Sahagian, Sebastian P. Sanchez, and Connor R. Underwood

Men’s Basketball: Kevin Corona and Gavin Reagan

Women’s Basketball: Kara Kung, Tyler Quinn-Fountano, Michelle Sroczynski, and Jullian Thebodeau

Beach Volleyball: Kezia Boyer, Taylor Brydon, Victoria Curtice, Jessica Dow, Melida Flores, Solana Murray, Brooklyn Rubio, Brooke Russell, Alayne Thompson, Nickeisha Williams, and Nina Wyer

Men’s Cross Country: Spencer Lubs, Michael Moody, and Vincent Yatar

Women’s Cross Country: Hannah Griffie, Jacqueline Rodriguez, and Courtney Smith

Football: Emmanuel Amaugo, Justice Anyanwu, Keven Bernard, Blaise Booth, Deadre Brewer, Travell Brown, Isaac Cox, Azizullah Fifita, Sebastian Franck-Love, Nathan Hierlihy, De’Montay High, Colin Hindle, Matthew Kolden, Raymond Lima, Taniela Lolohea, Kolby Marzorini, Stephon Sudduth, Gabriel Villarreal, Chad Washington, and DeAndre Wills

Golf: Ted Giapapas, Andrew Jasper, Cody Nakazaki, and Alyssa Rocha

Men’s Soccer: Edgar Esquivel, Bryan Larios, Isaac Lopez, Sergio Orozco, Brennan Smith, Brayan Surio, Ricardo Vazquez, and Ryan Zein

Women’s Soccer: Hope Agosto, Emily Cano, Nicole Chura, Rylie Cole, Tonya Gonzalez, and Ashley Mercado

Softball: Brigid Antonelli and Kamryn Fisher

Men’s Swimming: Vincent Bebich, Richard Beck, Yishen Fan, Joseph Luck, William Mackey, Zachary Phillips, Jordan Restrepo, and Henry Tran

Women’s Swimming: Bethany Andrade, Yocelyn Moraga, O. Kjahna, Amber Sauer, Mishael Umejesi, and Roxanne Vili

Men’s Tennis: Seth Abram and Angel Takahashi

Women’s Tennis: Chiaka Eshillonu, Natsuki Hoshiko, Nathale Juarez, Jade Shugars, Kaitlin Tsue, Shadera Woodland, and Nicole Zwiren

Men’s Track and Field: Maximilian Blaettler-Frenzel, Israel Cardona, Samuel Hudson, Solomon Kanehailua, Ethan Liang, Spencer Lubs, Chris Park, Zane Paully-Umeh, Chance Weston, Nayveon Wheaton, and Vincent Yatar

Women’s Track and Field: Zaynab Bent-Mikail, Allison Chapman, and Jacqueline Rodriguez

Men’s Volleyball: Jordan Banez, Kristopher Dixon, Conor B. Healy, Nehemiah M. Iosia, Nicholas S. Jimenez, Lexandre J. Labayen, Peter Nordel, Michael R. Otazu, Christian E. Remigio, Joshua Riblett, Kanai Thronas-Kahoone, and Wesly Tsai

Women’s Volleyball: Tessy-Beth Iwuh, Jennifer Mason, Nia Masui, Sarah Pearson, Brooke Russell, Jolene St. Pierre, Britnie Welchhance, and Nickeisha Williams

Men’s Water Polo: Ryan McKinney, Youssef Saleh, and Henry Tran

Women’s Water Polo: Mishael Umejesi and Roxanne Vili